Les avantages de la visualisation des données d'incidents pour améliorer la sécurité sur les chantiers de construction

Le module de sensibilisation à la sécurité de Leica Geosystems dans ConX fait passer la sécurité sur les chantiers de construction à un niveau supérieur.

Leica Geosystems safety awareness module ConX

Auteur : Olga Papandréou

La construction lourde est l'une des industries les plus dangereuses au monde. C'est donc à juste titre que la sécurité est une priorité pour tous sur le site, des directeurs et propriétaires d'entreprise aux chefs de projet en passant par les opérateurs de machines eux-mêmes. Les retards de projet, l'augmentation des coûts et la perte de revenus en sont les moindres. Personne ne veut être la cause ou le bénéficiaire d'un accident du travail.

Leica Geosystems comprend les risques de sécurité auxquels chacun est confronté lorsqu'il travaille sur des chantiers de construction lourds. C'est pourquoi nous nous efforçons de protéger les personnes et les autres actifs de construction contre les incidents malheureux en développant de nouvelles technologies et des solutions innovantes qui facilitent la sécurité de tous sur le chantier.

Nous avons récemment discuté avec Brad Mullis - Product Manager, Safety Awareness - et Michele Costa - Product Manager, ConX - pour mieux comprendre le nouveau module de sensibilisation à la sécurité de Leica Geosystems dans ConX et sa valeur pour nos clients.

Leica Geosystems a développé des produits de sécurité assez innovants pour l'industrie de la construction. Pouvez-vous nous donner un aperçu des développements les plus récents et les plus importants ?

Brad : En 2021, Leica a lancé une nouvelle génération de solutions de sensibilisation à la sécurité, qui comprend Leica iCON PA10, iCON PA80, iCON VA80 et CAS. Après un an sur le marché, on constate que ces solutions ont effectivement amélioré la sécurité sur site. Nous constatons moins d'incidents tels que des accidents et des dommages aux infrastructures et une réduction des frais et des amendes. Les opérateurs de machines nous disent que ces produits leur donnent un meilleur aperçu visuel de leur environnement, et nous entendons également dire que la direction consacre moins de temps et d'argent à des choses comme l'indemnisation des accidents du travail, l'assurance et la réparation des dommages aux machines.
Je pense que la clé de ce succès est que ces solutions ont considérablement amélioré la communication et le partage d'informations entre les travailleurs et les opérateurs de machines. Cela a permis d'éviter de nombreux quasi-incidents, ce qui rend les gens plus sûrs au travail tout en réduisant les coûts globaux. Cette année, nous introduisons un cinquième produit dans notre portefeuille : le module de sensibilisation à la sécurité ConX.

Cela semble intéressant. Qu'est-ce que c'est?

Michele : Je pense que c'est un produit très intéressant ! Il a deux composantes principales. Parlons d'abord de l'intégration avec nos produits de sécurité existants. Le nouveau module utilise l'infrastructure cloud Leica ConX existante pour collecter les données et les alertes générées par les solutions Leica iCON PA10, iCON PA80 et CAS. Les utilisateurs peuvent filtrer et exporter des données par événement, type d'équipement, machine spécifique et niveau de danger d'événement. Mais ce qui le distingue vraiment, c'est que le module visualise les données sélectionnées sur une carte thermique, ce qui permet aux responsables de la sécurité d'identifier facilement les zones à risque élevé - ou même des machines spécifiques qui présentent un risque important. Il s'agit de la première solution basée sur le cloud sur le marché pour collecter et visualiser des données liées à la sécurité. C'est un grand pas en avant pour la sécurité sur les chantiers !

Leica Geosystems safety awareness module incident heatmap

Deuxièmement, les capacités de communication brillantes du module entre le bureau et le terrain. Jusqu'à présent, il y avait toujours un risque que des informations importantes sur la sécurité ne soient pas reçues. Avec ce nouveau module, le personnel de bureau peut envoyer des alertes SOS pour informer tous les utilisateurs du logiciel MC1 des urgences sur site, comme les incendies, les déversements de produits chimiques et les intempéries. Il existe également une fonction pour informer les utilisateurs sélectionnés ou les opérateurs de machines spécifiques des événements anticipés qui pourraient affecter leur travail. Il peut s'agir d'activités de dynamitage à venir, de tranchées ouvertes, de matériaux instables à éviter ou de personnel au sol pénétrant à proximité de la machine.

Leica Geosystems safety awareness module in ConX sos alerts to MC1

Ces messages s'ajoutent au système traditionnel d'avertisseur sonore. Grâce à ces capacités de messagerie avancées, les opérateurs reçoivent des avertissements visuels directement sur leurs moniteurs. Toutes ces notifications apparaissent sur le logiciel Leica MC1 sur l'écran MCP80 et doivent être acquittées par l'opérateur. Cela aide le bureau à identifier les unités qui pourraient encore être en danger.

Je dois également mentionner qu'il existe un tableau de bord, qui facilite le suivi des KPI liés à la sécurité et garde un œil sur la performance des nouvelles mesures de sécurité. Je pense que ce module est un excellent complément à notre portefeuille existant.

Selon vous, quels sont les principaux avantages du module de sensibilisation à la sécurité ConX ?

Brad: Je pense que la possibilité de combiner les données d'incident de ce module avec les données générées par PA10, PA80 et CAS est extrêmement importante. Il donne une vue d'ensemble complète des incidents et des incidents potentiels. Désormais, les gestionnaires de site ont toutes les chances d'éviter des situations similaires à l'avenir. Les données d'incident peuvent être interprétées directement dans ConX ou via une API établie vers des systèmes tiers préférés.

Leica Geosystems safety awareness module KPI dashboard

Je pense également que les capacités de messagerie bureau-terrain de ConX sont révolutionnaires dans l'industrie. C'est un grand pas en avant en termes de traçabilité et de clarté.

Selon vous, qui bénéficiera le plus de ce nouveau module ?

Michele: L'un des aspects fantastiques de toutes les solutions de sensibilisation à la sécurité de Leica est qu'elles profitent à peu près à tout le monde sur le site d'une manière ou d'une autre. C'est un choix facile pour les responsables des achats car les utilisateurs sont déjà familiarisés avec la plate-forme et il s'agit d'une intégration simple et à licence unique avec les systèmes MC1 existants.

Les données collectées par le module offrent une transparence totale sur les incidents sur le site, ce qui permet à la direction de prendre des décisions basées sur les données concernant les nouvelles mesures de sécurité. Les contremaîtres et les inspecteurs de la construction seront heureux que le fardeau des rapports d'incident ne repose plus à 100 % sur leurs épaules, car le module peut fournir et fournira des données complètes sur les incidents si nécessaire.

Les équipes de chantier sont bien conscientes des dangers auxquels elles sont confrontées au quotidien. J'espère que le nouveau module de sensibilisation à la sécurité leur donnera la tranquillité d'esprit qu'ils travaillent sur un site où les risques d'incidents sont aussi faibles que possible.

Comment les clients achèteront-ils le module de sensibilisation à la sécurité dans ConX ?

Michele: Les clients qui possèdent déjà les systèmes iCON PA10, iCON PA80 et CAS achètent simplement une licence du module de sensibilisation à la sécurité Leica ConX avant d'activer le module dans l'interface Web.

Les licences sont divisées en quatre groupes en fonction du nombre de machines équipées de capteurs de sensibilisation liés à un projet Leica ConX. Nous avons 0–9, 10–29, 30–49 et des licences unitaires illimitées. Les licences sont limitées dans le temps et peuvent être commandées par incréments d'une semaine entière entre 2 et 52 semaines. Nous avons choisi ce modèle car il est flexible et évolutif pour des projets de toute taille et durée. 

Où quelqu'un pourrait-il trouver plus d'informations sur ces solutions ?

Brad: Le site Web du produit est une excellente source d'informations! De plus, nous avons développé une fiche d'information sur les solutions de sensibilisation à la sécurité qui fournit plus de détails techniques sur les différentes solutions, leurs composants requis et comment tout est réuni pour aider nos clients à protéger leur personnel et d'autres actifs sur le site.

Brad, Michele, merci à vous deux d'avoir pris le temps d'expliquer cette solution importante pour la sécurité. Il est vrai que l'on ne peut s'améliorer que sur des choses que l'on peut mesurer, et la sécurité en fait désormais partie !


Visit us at Bauma

Join our heavy construction industry experts at Hall A2, Booth #137 and explore the latest innovations and hands-on demos with experts ready to answer any questions.
Join our heavy construction industry experts at Hall A2, Booth #137 and explore the latest innovations and hands-on demos with experts ready to answer any questions.

Safety Awareness Infographic

Download this infographic to learn more about which safety awareness solution is the right one for your jobsite.
Download this infographic to learn more about which safety awareness solution is the right one for your jobsite.

Contact us about Machine Control

Get in contact with us for more information about our machine control solutions.
Get in contact with us for more information about our machine control solutions.

How-to videos from LMC Academy

Understanding Leica Geosystems machine control solutions - how to get started and become more effective using them.
Understanding Leica Geosystems machine control solutions - how to get started and become more effective using them.

The benefits of visualising incident data to improve safety on construction sites

Leica Geosystems' Safety Awareness Module in ConX brings construction site safety to the next level.

Leica Geosystems safety awareness module ConX

Author: Olga Papandreou

Heavy construction is one of the world’s most dangerous industries. So it is with good reason that safety is top-of-mind for everyone on site – from directors and business owners to project managers to the machine operators themselves. Project delays, increased costs and lost revenue are the least of it. No one wants to be the cause or recipient of a workplace injury.

Leica Geosystems understands the safety risks that everyone faces while working on heavy construction sites. That is why we strive to safeguard people and other construction assets against unfortunate incidents by developing new technologies and innovative solutions that make it easier to keep everyone safe on site.

We recently chatted with Brad Mullis - Product Manager, Safety Awareness – and Michele Costa – Product Manager, ConX – to better understand Leica Geosystems’ new Safety Awareness Module in ConX and its value to it our customers.

Leica Geosystems have developed some pretty innovative safety products for the construction industry. Can you give us an overview of the latest and greatest developments?

Brad: In 2021, Leica released a new generation of safety-awareness solutions, which includes Leica iCON PA10, iCON PA80, iCON VA80 and CAS. After a year on the market, we can see that these solutions have, in fact, improved on-site safety. We’re seeing fewer incidents like accidents and infrastructure damage and a reduction in fees and fines. Machine operators tell us that these products give them a better visual overview of their surroundings, and we’re also hearing that management is spending less time and money on things like workers’ compensation, insurance and repairing machine damage.

I think the key to this success is that these solutions have significantly improved communication and information sharing between workers and machine operators. This has prevented many near-incidents, which makes people safer at work while reducing overall costs. This year, we’re introducing a fifth product to the portfolio – the ConX Safety Awareness Module. 

That sounds interesting. What is it?

Michele: I think it’s a very interesting product! It has two main components. Let’s first talk about the integration with our existing safety products. The new module uses the existing Leica ConX cloud infrastructure to collect data and alerts generated from the Leica iCON PA10, iCON PA80 and CAS solutions. Users can filter and export data by event, equipment type, specific machine and event danger level. But what really sets it apart is that the module visualises the selected data on a heatmap, which makes it easy for safety managers to identify elevated risk areas – or even specific machines that are at substantial risk. It’s the first cloud-based solution on the market to collect and visualise safety-related data. It’s a big step forwards for construction site safety!

Leica Geosystems safety awareness module incident heatmap

Second is the module’s brilliant office-to-field communication capabilities. Up until now, there’s always been a risk of important safety information not being received. With this new module, office personnel can send SOS alerts to inform all MC1 software users of on-site emergencies, like fires, chemical spills and severe weather. There’s also a function to notify selected users or specific machine operators of anticipated events that might affect their work. These could be things like upcoming blasting activity, open trenches, unstable material that should be avoided, or ground personnel entering the machine’s vicinity.

Leica Geosystems safety awareness module in ConX sos alerts to MC1

These messages are in addition to the traditional airhorn system. With these advanced messaging capabilities, operators receive visual warnings directly on their monitors. All of these notifications pop up on the Leica MC1 software on the MCP80 panel and must be acknowledged by the operator. This helps the office identify units that might still be in danger.

I should also mention that there’s a dashboard, which makes it easy to track safety-related KPIs and keep an eye on how new safety measures are performing. I think this module is an excellent complement to our existing portfolio.

What do you see as the main benefits of the ConX Safety Awareness Module?

Brad: I think the ability to combine incident data from this module with the data generated from PA10, PA80 and CAS is extremely important. It gives complete overview view of incidents and potential incidents. Now site managers have the best possible chance to avoid similar situations in the future. The incident data can be interpreted directly within ConX or through established API to preferred third-party systems.

Leica Geosystems safety awareness module KPI dashboard

I also think that the office-to-field messaging capabilities from ConX are groundbreaking in the industry. This is quite a step forwards in terms of traceability and clarity.

Who do you think will benefit the most from this new module?

Michele: One of the fantastic things about all of Leica’s safety-awareness solutions is that they benefit pretty much everyone on site in one way or another. It’s an easy choice for purchasing managers because users are already familiar with the platform, and it’s a simple, one-licence integration with the existing MC1 systems.

The data collected by the module gives complete transparency into site incidents, which allows management to make data-driven decisions about new safety measures. Foremen and construction surveyors will be glad that the burden of incident reporting no longer rests 100% on their shoulders because the module can and will provide comprehensive incident-related data if needed.

Site crews are well aware of the dangers they face every day. I hope that the new Safety Awareness Module will give them peace of mind that they’re working on a site where incident risks are as low as they can be.

How will customers buy the Safety Awareness Module in ConX?

Michele: Customers who already have the iCON PA10, iCON PA80 and CAS systems simply purchase a Leica ConX Safety Awareness Module licence before activating the module in the web interface.

The licences are divided into four groups based on the number of machines with awareness sensors linked to a Leica ConX project. We have 0–9, 10–29, 30–49, and unlimited unit licences. The licences are time-limited and can be ordered in whole-week increments between 2 and 52 weeks. We chose this model because it’s flexible and scalable to projects of any size and duration.

Where could someone find more information about these solutions?

Brad: The product website is a great source of information! Additionally, we have developed a safety awareness solutions info sheet that provides more technical details on the different solutions, their required components and how everything is coming together to assist our customers in protecting their people and other assets on site.

Brad, Michele, thank you both for your time explaining this significant-to-safety solution. It’s true that you can only improve on things you can measure, and safety is now one of them!


Safety Awareness Info sheet

Download this information sheet to learn more about which safety awareness solution is the right one for your jobsite.
Download this information sheet to learn more about which safety awareness solution is the right one for your jobsite.

Contact us about Machine Control

Get in contact with us for more information about our machine control solutions.
Get in contact with us for more information about our machine control solutions.

How-to videos from LMC Academy

Understanding Leica Geosystems machine control solutions - how to get started and become more effective using them.
Understanding Leica Geosystems machine control solutions - how to get started and become more effective using them.